Monday, 16 February 2015

The Things I Buy


So i have had an interesting weekend, valentines weekend as they are all calling it.

For the first part of February 14th, i was being all mopey and down. I don't care about being single of course but on this particular day its a slight reminder that you are alone and you don't have another human being to be there for you in a special way.
I don't personally like Valentines day as its so commercial and money grabbing and rubbish. Love hearts, pink and teddy bears aren't really my thing anyway. Also from what i can remember i have never had a decent Valentines day. But its not like i am bitter or anything, because i am not.

Any way after being all low and down, my best friend offered me to come to her place instead. With her boyfriend and sister. I did just that and enjoyed the night greatly and it really took my mind off things. We played video games and chatted and laughed over YouTube videos together!
I went to my parents house on Sunday night and then stayed over.

Today, Monday, i went shopping with my two younger sisters and i thought i would share some items i have bought!

I found an old complete, 1961? Monopoly Board Game in the local Charity shop! They were only selling it for £4! And though i could not get a decent value on how much it would be worth i know it would be museum worthy at least and its actually quite fascinating to look at and think about.
This item i have bought, is the same age as my dad, older than me by years!
How many families/people have played this game in forty odd years? How many times has it been passed around, bought and sold? How many houses has it lived in?
Its a cool thought, this one board game is still intact through the days of computer and technology. And we are all aware of the upgraded and new versions of the monopoly game, they just do not compare to this one. Its a step back in time.

I also came across a book called 'The Essential Guide To THE TAROT'... a tarot book, dur.
And well i have always been fascinated with Tarot cards, i was lucky to be born with a creative imagination and curiosity with an open mind. I own a deck of Tarot cards so i would really like to get to know them better and learn about them all individually.
What i first learned about Tarot cards was the fact when you get a deck of cards, they are now yours and you are meant to keep them safe, and somewhere close to you, around your energy. and no one is said to be allowed to touch them unless you say it is okay. It is like a lovely relationship between the owner and the cards, a mutual respect.

I cannot wait to find out more about my potential destiny and future and of course remembering with the knowledge the cards give you, it only means you can change what you for see if you try.

I also bought some pencils, coloured pencils and coloured pens and i shall be drawing again!
I am looking forward to finding my inner creativity through pen and paper, i have now only became a doodler and though i love to doodle and have nothing against it, i was once i big drawer and i want to explore that again.

So watch this space as i will put my drawings up for you to see!

So that was my shopping today! I bought a few other things, concealer, new boots, face sponges haha, but yeah nothing too important.

Hope you have a nice week :)



Monday, 9 February 2015

Whats been on my mind - February.

A few things have crossed my mind recently.
As i type i am yawning but i feel i needed to blog my thoughts.

First of all, i for some reason woke up the other day thinking is it mandatory to change your surname to your husbands after marriage?
For growing up i was not told, i just observed as a child, my female relatives (aunties ect;) and people in my life getting married and changing their surname to their husbands. It was not questioned, it was just what happened. Now i actually thought that is what happened, call me stupid if you like, whatever. But is it under educated? Was i misinformed? Or was i not informed enough?

I looked it up, on websites and such, i found it is not a mandatory thing, yet tradition. That word, tradition for some reason winds me up. I am unsure why but when people say something is tradition it is around a thing that people do or celebrate or whatever and no one questions it, yet there are questions to be asked.

I always find myself asking them and being called argumentative and 'a rebel without a cause'.
I figured i was not going to lose my surname if i was to be married to a male in the future, though i don't plan on that of course. But for example, my father had four daughters, growing up, before sexuality came into light for me, i assumed we would probably all eventually get married to men and change our surnames, after all that is what my mother did? And her sisters, and my dads sisters...
I thought my dad was unhappy because he didn't have a son to carry on the surname!
But i was relieved to realize that you don't have to change your surname after marriage. People just do.

And all cool and fair if you want to of course, but remember if its because you want to, not because you think its what happens.
People need to question things, question the normal and the traditions more often. So i don't look so alone xD


Another thing to happen to me recently was i was named 'nosy' by a 'friend'.
In a band, you show a mutual respect and decency to your fellow members. This includes if you are not going to make it into session or band practice you let them know and if possible why.
You would do that in a job right? So why not with people who take this band seriously?
Anyways, my said friend does not seem to do this at all.
Sunday just gone i found myself messaging my friend saying 'Band Practice :D' we all know band practice is on on a Sunday unless said otherwise, so you are to come to band practice. It is not hard. If you are serious about being a band member you show dedication.
Anyway....  i got no reply. I went to band practice myself and then on the train journey home i noticed my friend had posted a photo they had taken of a friend (he was at their house, or they at his i don't know) on their 'facebook wall' or 'timeline' or whatever they call it now.
So i decided to message them and ask why they weren't at band practice. They told me they had woken up at 3:30pm upchucking and being sick (band practice starts at 1pm by the way). I said fair enough and i hoped they felt better soon.
Though in my head i was confused as to why they did not reply to my message at 3:30pm to let me know then but was fine enough to post a picture on his facebook wall, right?

So a little while later they made a status saying they had quit their other band (he also does a marching 'jazz' band on Saturdays in a different city, and hes been more dedicated to that) i decided out of concern to ask why they quit the band? and they said i was basically nosy.
And i said i was only asking, for them to say 'no offence but you focus on reality boots and not the jazz band.'
I did then say as they are a member of the reality boots band i was concerned about them and his life in all aspects And asked them if they were going to focus on Reality Boots too, their response was that we had a stuck up atmosphere and apparently we talk about them behind his back and give him dirty looks. Which may i add is not true at all.

This response by him may of been taken from Friday session when he had decided to come in after weeks of not coming to practice, where as the rest of the band had been rehearsing for weeks, he comes along and sings the songs incorrectly in a 'x factor way' he said. And was leading the band with timings which he got incorrectly causing confusion and i ended up getting muddled and stopped singing because of it.
Two of the band members politely said maybe they should let me lead the timings as i am band leader and i think he has taken a huff about it.
Is it an ego thing? Is him coming in after weeks of hiatus and trying to lead and such a way of him trying to prove he can still be part of the band so to speak? Like he doesn't need to rehearse because hes fine? I don't know?

Having a professional and mature manner about you and taking the band seriously and not treating it like a youth club is not being Stuck up right?
right?

Or am i wrong and we are all snobby?

I have typed an incredibly long blog post tonight and i am sorry.
Think i could go on longer but i won't put you through the pain!
Also half way that i gave up writing they, their and them... lol

Thank you if you have read it all, and let me know what you think?
Was i right or wrong?
Also did you know about the name change too?
Would you change your name or not?


Thanks!
Lunasowf!



Monday, 2 February 2015

My weekend and Imbolc



So, Spring is upon us! Winter as behind us. The days are going to get brighter and warmer! Are you excited? I am!

I am mostly excited because i hate the cold weather, though i live in England so the weather is not exactly lovely most of the time regardless of the seasons, we are all very familiar of grey clouds above our heads most days!

But yes, it is Imbolc! I have seven candles lit, two red, 4 white and one big green candle! I also have incense burning and a chalice next to them. The beauty of Wicca in my opinion is that you can keep learning, you do not have to go in head first, dip your toe into the ocean of knowledge and be gradual. This is my first time celebrating Imbolc this way, maybe next year i will be more knowledgeable and my altar and the way i celebrate this sabbat will be bigger and better! 


Anyway, i am waiting on a delivery! I thought it was my hair dye, as i am dying my hair dark green, light green and blue as i have a little problem with dying my hair a lot, i haven't dyed my hair a mad colour in a long while so i thought it wouldn't harm to dye it :P but yes, so i thought it was my hair dye that was meant to come on Friday, and i knew i had to go out and miss the postman so as expected i had a red note through the door telling me i had missed my delivery, so i rearranged for it to come today instead. But then Saturday came along and the postman knocked on my door with a parcel and it was my hair dye... So...what came on Friday for me? I don't know but we will find out soon enough. Or whenever the postman decides to show up today. 

On another note, our band Reality Boots, finally have a band logo now! so we shall be making a promo kit and now we can promote and it will help with marketing and we can now tour around the region ever so proudly! Exciting!


I am thinking of getting a brace, but i am worried how it may affect my singing if i get one, but i need one, its a very annoying thing. Without one i feel under confident and it will affect how i feel about touring around with the band because i hate my teeth if that makes sense. But if i get a brace, how will that affect my singing? I just don't know, super annoying. 

I woke up at half 6 in the morning after falling asleep at 10pm, i don't think my body clock is happy with me and now is messing with me, considering the night before i went to bed at 11pm and woke up at 9am... how does that work i shall never know!

I will be posting a new video up on YouTube so please go check it out! 
cxi! (pronounced Z-EYE)